February Designer Spotlight

Every month we want to shine a light on local designers who are carving their place in the Fargo-Moorhead Community and beyond! In this series, we ask them questions to get to know them better, so you can to!

1. How long have you been sewing?

I got my first sewing machine as a Christmas present when I was ten years old, by that point in my life I had already decided I wanted to be a fashion designer. I started doing little projects with my mom and grandma like making coasters and dresses for dolls. I remember making my first dress to be worn at that age and feeling so accomplished.

2. What sparked your passion?

The earliest spark I can remember was sketching dresses in second grade and my teacher at the time was so supportive of me. She, to this day, is one of the biggest supporters and motivators in my life. Her constant inspiration has kept me on my path all these years. Through the ups and downs of my own faith in my abilities and dreams, having her as someone who never doubted me and always knew I’d accomplish what I set my mind to, has given me a tremendous amount of drive and passion.

3. What do you wish people knew about making garments?

For me, making garments is about constructing a piece that makes people feel something. Most of my garments are inspired by vintage designs or reused fabrics and to me that is bringing new life back to old fabrics. Fashion tells a story and can bring back memories. I find that so beautiful when you can have pieces that provoke such emotions.

4. What’s your favorite thing you’ve made?

One of my favorite pieces I’ve made isn’t necessarily my best work, but it’s my favorite because it got me back into sewing after a long time of thinking I wouldn’t be successful and that I needed a more “secure” career path. I took an opportunity to make a dress for a local fashion show that I had been a part of years before with some friends. I created a navy blue, two piece silky wrap dress with a boat neck and black lace. The dress itself was semi successful but the spark it brought back into me reminded me why I wanted to be a designer. 

5. What’s the most complicated piece you’ve made?

The most complicated piece I’ve made is also my most rewarding one. I took old jeans from my childhood and from friends and family and made a patchwork denim skirt. It took me days and a lot of help from my grandma to perfectly place each piece so that it was even. Although I did end up sewing a pin inside a few layers which my sister had to find the hard way. It is to this day the most worn and most noticed piece that I am so proud of.


6. What would you tell those who want to get into sewing or design?

The number one thing you need is determination. Skills can be learned and opportunities will come but you need determination and passion to be successful. There will be obstacles and the route may not always be clear but that does not mean you have to stop. Always push through and never let anyone tell you no.  

Make sure to follow Hope on all her socials!

Instagram Facebook

Published by FargoMoorheadFashionCollective

Fargo-Moorhead & the surrounding area's FASHION GUIDE!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started